Brief History

Hits: 2174


The Department of Computer Science, Lagos State University (LASU) was established in 2006 to meet the growing needs for computer experts in Lagos and Nigeria as a whole. The then Dean of Science, Prof. NA Olasupo (from the department of Microbiology), served as the Head of Department (HOD) because there was no senior academic staff in computer science department at that time. Prior to the establishment of the department of computer science, some of the computer scientists were participating in the part-time degree programme in computer science ran by the university. Admission into the full time degree programme never started until the following session (2007/2008) as the first set of students (about 70) were considered for admission through Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB). The students were mentored under the following pioneer 5 academic staff members: Mrs Obagbuwa, Mr Aiyeniko, Mr Enikuomehin, Mr Idowu, and Mr Adesina. Mrs Obagbuwa was assigned the role of the Coordinator of the department and she reported to the Dean of science- Prof NA Olasupo.
In 2008, the Department was lucky to have Prof. (Mrs) A.O. Osofisan of the University of Ibadan as the HOD during her sabbatical leave in LASU. She took the leadership position for two consecutive sessions. Her tenure made a turn-around for the Department in the area of:

  1. Complete curriculum structuring,
  2. Harmonization of Computer courses across the Faculties,
  3. Staff welfare was considered serious as many academic staff of the Department embarked on their Masters and PhD programme

In 2010, Prof MO Ajetunmobi (from Mathematics department) took the mantle of leadership from Prof Osofisan as she went back to the University after her Sabbatical leave. Prof Ajetumobi served the double roles of being the Dean of Science as well as the HOD of computer science department. Prof Ajetunmobi later made Mrs Akerele to serve as the Coordinator for the Department from 2010 to 2011. Mrs Akerele worked tirelessly with other staff members to pass the first conducted accreditation exercise by National University Commission (NUC), as the Department was given partial accreditation.

In 2012, Dr. M.A. Rahman became the acting HOD after joining the department from Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education. Professor B.S. Aribisala joined the department from the University of Edinburgh, UK in 2013. Professor Aribisala and Dr. Rahman led the department during the accreditation exercise in 2013 and that produced a Full accreditation for the department. This was a huge progress as the department secured a full accreditation from NUC for the very first time. Professor Aribisala and Dr. Rahman also led the department in developing the curriculum for the post graduate programmes in computer science.

In 2014 Prof. B.S. Aribisala became the substantive HOD. His leadership has helped the Department to grow tremendously both in strength and number. Since he assumed office, the department and has made a lot of achievements, some of the achievements are listed below.

  1. Professor Aribisala received a faculty award from IBM. The grant money was used to buy an inverter for computer science department.
  2. Prof Aribisala was awarded the Young innovators award for the impact of his research in brain mapping by the society for brain mapping and therapeutics in Los Angeles, USA.
  3. Professor Aribisala was awarded the British Researchers link award in 2014
  4. Professor Aribisala started the monthly departmental seminar series was introduced to the department.
  5. Professor Aribisala led the department to developed her first software package called eMemo
  6. Computer science department, LASU received a donation of equipment worth over $6million, this includes a server for the department of computer science and relevant software tools. This was possible because of the international collaboration between LASU and IBM Corporation.
  7. The first "First Class" in the History of the Department emerged during the tenure of Prof. Aribisala and the head of the department. The student who made this notable achievement is Olabanjo Olusola and his final year project was supervised by Prof. Aribisala.
  8. Computer science students came first in the 6th Annual Information Technology Development competition organized by Nigerian Computer Society (NCS) Ogun State Chapter in 2015.
  9. Revision of the BSc. computer science curriculum to conform with NUC Benchmark and the accommodate the dynamism in computer science technology.
  10. Professor Aribisala facilitated the specialised training and Certification for LASU staff on IBM Big Data technology. Over 50 staff and 100 students are now Certified Big Data Specialist.
  11. Professor Aribisala facilitated the specialised training for LASU staff on Mobile application development.
  12. Senate and Governing Council’s approval of the post graduate courses in computer science.

The department has produced over 400 graduates who are capable of proving themselves anywhere and many of them currently work in notable companies in Nigeria. The department currently has 18 academic staff (12 full time and 6 adjunct) out of which about 80% has PhD degree. The department also has two technical staff and three administrative staff. Finally, a student of the department in person of Olabanjo Olusola has made the University proud by winning the Don Etiebet award for Best BSc. Computer Science project in Lagos state in 2015.